The Mooncup: A Hippie Utensil for Celebrating the Seasons?

Women in the UK use 15,000 sanitary towels and tampons in their lifetime. British landfill needs to accommodate more than 12 billion pads and tampons annually contributing to environmental pollution. The plastic applicators for tampons were the most common form of rubbish found on beaches in Britain and Europe in 2007.

The problem is most women don’t know that there are alternatives. But there is, the Mooncup. If, like me, you thought that the Mooncup was something hippies used to celebrate the seasons, then read on. If by ‘hippies’ we mean the propagators of environmentally friendly ways of living, then yes they have been using the Mooncup to ‘celebrate their seasons’ since the mid 1930s when it first went on commercial sale.

In an attempt to take responsibility for my share of the girlie waste wedging itself between the toes of holiday makers in the South of France, I decided to join my incense-burning sisters and give the Mooncup a try! I began my search online at the official Mooncup web site. When the home page appeared, showing what looked like the top end of a plastic plunger, I freaked out. As I read on I learnt that the Mooncup is a reusable menstrual cup. That’s right, more cause for me to shudder and cringe! So I moved swiftly on to the FAQ section (which was more like a WTF section). I discovered it’s worn internally like a tampon but collects menstrual fluid rather than absorbing it and because it is reusable, you only need to buy one. Curious about the actual ‘ins and outs’, I decided to buy one.
When my period arrived I read the accompanying booklet; and prepared it for use disappointing my imagination once more. I pictured my attempts being like the famous ‘pigs blood’ scene in Stephen King’s film ‘Carrie’. This wasn’t the case.

The Mooncup holds around 30ml of fluid, which is roughly a third of the total produced each period. This means you don’t have to change it as often as you would sanitary towels or tampons. Mooncups are made from organic materials and contain no bleaches, deodorisers or absorbency gels. So unlike its less green counterpart, they are not linked to Toxic Shock Syndrome (TSS).

By the time I had finished my period, I had changed from a woman who held the Mooncup using only her fingertips, to someone who refused to let it go. However I still doubted whether the overall benefits of products like the Mooncup would be enough to guide us into a new era of feminine hygiene. But I was reassured to learn that the Mooncup was voted ‘Best New Product’ at the Natural Trade Show and if that isn’t enough to float eco-friendly boats, it was also approved by the Vegan Society!

So, you ask, has the Mooncup turned me into a Hippie and will I really start collecting my own belly button fluff in order to insulate my attic? The answer has to be an undisputed ‘yeah man’!

Original article found here

4 thoughts on “The Mooncup: A Hippie Utensil for Celebrating the Seasons?

  1. I’m glad you like the Moon Cup. I use a different cup, but it’s definitely changed my life for the better! A Toast? (or not :)) Also, if you don’t like the C-fold, there are alternate folds out there.

  2. I’m still very wary and can’t bring myself to try it even though I’m a total hippie at heart! Great post though, you definitely got me thinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

